Prayer Neutralizes Fear

image
Word of God. Photo credit: mudpreacher.org

I’m a frequent reader of E. A. Adeboye’s Open Heavens devotional notes. This post was inspired by today’s devotional topic. I’m reminded that indeed men ought always to pray and not to faint (Luke 18:1).

Quoting Adeboye,

If you are constantly tormented by fear,  it is an indication of the absence of an effective prayer life.

My experience
I’ve learned that when I find myself worrying so much about something, it’s most likely that I’ve not been praying about it. Amazingly, when I spend time in prayer over matters that cause worry, anxiety or fear, calmness comes into my mind. I can trust God more. I’ve found out that it’s not enough to just confess the scriptures into a situation, it’s important to dedicate time to pray about it.

What’s your experience with fear, worries and prayer?

Leke Babayomi

5 thoughts on “Prayer Neutralizes Fear”

  1. I totally agree. Or how about complaining about someone instead of praying for them? Fear and pride and envy lead me to complain about others, most likely, or feeling like I’m treated unjustly, but God can hear our cries and intercede and help us. You are so right!

    1. And this is another practical extension of the concept of praying instead of worrying. Complaining or gossiping about others is something we’d do less if we are more loving and pray for them instead. Same applies to envy and pride. Thanks so much for sharing this. God bless you!

  2. Another practical and impactful post.
    I am a mess when I don’t pray….I agree with what you have shared 100%….
    Whenever I get edgy and easily angered or afraid I know it’s because I have not spent the time I need to spend in prayer.
    Thanks for sharing this Leke.

    Rolain

    1. Thanks Rolain for sticking around. We humans are frail and have diverse weaknesses. But as long as we remain connected to the Vine, we will be able to testify like apostle Paul that, “When I am weak, then am I strong.” Because somehow, God complements our limitations with His mighty grace.

      1. So true….I praise God that I am grafted into Him! There is no other way I would want it to be. I know that my prayer life needs to intensify so much more than it is now….thanks again.

        Rolain

Leave a Reply

