Disappointments are a Blessing!

Rainbow after storm. Photo credit: http://positivepsychologynews.com/
Rainbow after storm.
Photo credit: http://positivepsychologynews.com/

A friend recently got promoted at work. However, I recall him mentioning that not too long ago, he had had such a dismal performance in the same organization that made his chances of promotion at the time very slim.

God always knows what He’s up to, but we are always clueless as to what he’s doing in our lives. When Jesus delayed and permitted the death of Lazarus, it resulted in disappointment and sorrow to his family. But in the end, their faith was built up and their joy was boundless after the dead and decaying corpse of Lazarus was raised back to life (John 11:44).

Similarly in our lives, God is the Potter, molding us into what He wants us to be. We like to sing the song that says,

“Spirit of the Living God, Fall afresh on me, Melt me, Mold me, Fill me, Use me.”

However, when the breaking and melting starts, we cry and sometimes lose hope because we think our heavenly Father has forsaken us and is making life unbearable for us. Nonetheless, it is only the vessel that God himself has broken and remolded according to his desire that He can fill up with his power and use to show forth His praise to the world and this generation. The breaking, melting and remolding process reconstructs our character to conform to the nature of Christ.

Your disappointment might be a miscarriage, relationship failure, marital delay, promotion delay, business/career stagnation or the death of a loved one. When we face disappointments that make us think that God’s name is being shamed in our lives, we should pray, “Lord, glorify yourself in my life in the way that you choose. Let this situation work out for my good and promotion in the end!”

Disappointments do not bring happiness in themselves. But I must confess that although the process might be hard, we will find out that God is faithful and will make things work out for our good!

Remain blessed,

LEKE

18 thoughts on “Disappointments are a Blessing!”

    1. Wow! Carl, I’m so happy to hear that. Your experience also confirms that it helps when we can take our eyes off the present failures and trust God our heavenly Father to make all things to work out for our good in the end. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    1. Thanks for dropping a line. Indeed, different situations demand different reactions from us. While we shouldn’t passively wait for “whatever will be to be”, we ought to do whatever is required of us and maintain our right standing with God. Should we then experience unexplainable challenges or delays, then…”having done all, to stand” (Ephesians 6:13). We must stand in the faith because our heavenly Father is faithful.

  1. Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Psalm 121:1 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made Heaven and earth. He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: He that keepeth thee will not slumber. Behold, He that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: He shall preserve thy soul. The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

    Psalm 107:16-18 For he hath broken the gates of brass, and cut the bars of iron in sunder. Fools because of their transgression, and because of their iniquities, are afflicted.

    Proverbs 10:20-22 The tongue of the just is as choice silver: the heart of the wicked is little worth. The lips of the righteous feed many: but fools die for want of wisdom. The blessing of the Lord, it maketh rich, and He addeth no sorrow with it.

    James 1:12-14 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love Him. Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    James 117 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

    In Christs Name and empowering – Anne.

    1. Thanks for these scriptures. They are so useful to apply in times of doubt and discouragement. I guess these were some of the words of life that kept you going during the past weeks when you were at the hospital.

  2. Sorry I would have responded sooner Leke but I never received notification from WordPress that you had replied to my comment which has happened before and mostly during your weekends so it could be inexperienced Staff as they only work part time but I did think the notifications were automatic and if so than it would have been stopped, anyway I’m not sure but I would be asking if I was you why it was not sent in case it happens to your other commenters.
    .
    In response to your question, yes knowing God does not deliberately plan to hurt or afflict us as the Scriptures I shared confirm, meant I Trusted Him even though I was going through a raging Storm in my Life but unlike Job who did not know it was Satan who was afflicting him I knew it was and that it was not God and even in times of trouble now I still know this Truth and I also know He is with me and that I’m not alone and that God gives us the strength to endure what ever life brings.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    It is very True that God does not plan evil for anyone or want them to suffer the same as He did not plan for me to be Born disabled or to be molested as a child and raped as a young Teenager or to be bashed as a young pregnant wife or for my 7 babies to die before they had a chance to live like we do on earth. Everything God made was very good but evil is now part of our world and Satan controls it.

    The Truth is that God does not plan evil to bring good out of it, the Scriptures tell us to say this maliciously even about Christians is slander but for years I believed this lie too, I was deceived and so never understood how great God’s Love is, He grieves to see His children suffer but for us His redeemed Children, He works it all for good in our lives.

    There is much more I could share Leke but one thing that is often asked is why does God let it continue, if He was to stop all evil He would have to end this world now but He is patient not wanting anyone to perish, meaning to be Eternally separated from Him which is their choice not what He wants. It broke His heart to see His beloved Son Jesus suffer and die but He Loved us so much He let Him choose to redeem us for Eternity, Jesus knew the heartache His Father would suffer to see us all perish so He said not my will but yours, He had a choice but He chose a cruel death to save us.

    The way God molds and shapes us is by giving us opportunities to choose to walk in the Spirit and than He empowers us to do so, yes He does test our spirit and as often as needed but not through suffering and He motivates Loving hearts to reach out to a hurting world and not just for material needs but for Spiritual too and we show we are His by our willing obedience which is not works as some claim but a sign of the indwelling Spirit .

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of Peace and not of evil, to give you a Future and a Hope.

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne.

    1. Hello Anne. I’m so sorry for responding later than you expected. I really need to improve on my response time.

      I’m deeply moved by the trying circumstances you’ve passed through in life, and impressed or touched that your faith in God has been strengthened through it all. You’ve overcome rape as a teenager, the loss of 7 babies, amongst other troubles. I must commend you for your faith, inner strength and convictions that have been developed through years of walking with Jesus. I am learning a lot from you sis. The tone of your writing indicates that you hold no grudge against God for the things you’ve experienced.

      Truly it’s hard to explain why God permits pain in the lives of his beloved. It’s also a route to bitterness toward God when we blame Him for our sorrows. It’s even more confusing when the suffering lasts for a long time. This has made atheists out of some people. From the time sin entered the world, sorrows followed too. I think your words have explained a lot. As humans, we must admit that we don’t know a lot of things even though we seek explanations.

      Habakkuk 3:17-18 says, “Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.”

      Thanks a lot for these encouraging words. I believe they will benefit readers tremendously. I really appreciate you. God bless you Anne!

      Leke

  3. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement Leke but No I never received notification from WordPress regarding your first reply but I did the second one, which means it’s not your fault so no apology from you is needed.

    We may never know Leke how God created man from dust or even a Tree from nothing but as the Scripture below confirms we can know God’s good will for us and His heart of Love for all His Children. Jesus also tells us everything will be reveled to us, we have the indwelling of The Holy Spirit which the Old Testament Saints did not have.

    It is not my will Leke that others seek me for understanding but Jesus our only Teacher, having asked for God’s wisdom and empowering He will lead us into all Truth but yes we are all called to share His Truth as He empowers and equips us to under His Authority.

    1 Corinthians 2:9-16 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that Love Him. But God hath revealed them unto us by His Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God. For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth but which the Holy Ghost teacheth, comparing spiritual things with Spiritual. But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are Spiritually discerned. But he that is Spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man. For who hath known the Mind of the Lord, that he may instruct Him? but we have the Mind of Christ.

    1 John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in Light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    John 16:13 -15. Howbeit when He, the Spirit of Truth, is come, He will guide you into all truth: for He shall not speak of Himself but whatsoever He shall hear, that shall He speak: and He will shew you things to come. He shall glorify me: for He shall receive of mine, and shall shew it unto you. All things that the Father hath are mine: therefore said I, that He shall take of mine, and shall shew it unto you.

    I hold no grudge against God Leke for the evil things I have experienced in life because He did not willingly afflict me but yes some have said to me and teach others too that everything that happens to us in this life, good and evil is by the hand of God but He is Love and Love can do no evil all good things come from Him.

    I’m sure you will agree Leke it would have been evil for Him to plan and willingly allow me to be bashed and abused and than abandoned by my birth Mother and than because of not being looked after properly, to be molested by 5 different men from the age of 3 till I was 15 and than raped by the last one, a Doctor who had aborted my first Baby after lying to me that it was just like a chooks egg and all the other evil that has happened to me in my life, some of which I caused myself.

    God does not willingly permit suffering, it is part of Life because of the fall, people hurt us, we also reap the evil we sow until we repent and are perfected in Love and Satan puts us to the Test seeking to cause us to fall away, meaning reject Jesus but God knows those who are His and not one of us will be lost, He will keep us strong to the end and He protects our soul this is His promise and He does not lie.

    Psalm 97:9-11 For thou, Lord, art high above all the earth: thou art exalted far above all gods. Ye that Love the Lord, hate evil: He preserveth the souls of His Saints; He delivereth them out of the hand of the wicked. Light is sown for the righteous, and gladness for the upright in heart.

    Psalm 107: 8 – 9 Oh that men would praise the Lord for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the Children of Men! For He satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness.

    Christian Love Always in Christ Jesus – Anne.

Leave a Reply

